TDP Appoints New Executive Director!

TDP Welcomes Alexandra Key as new Executive Director:

Alexandra Key has been appointed Executive Director of The Dysautonomia Project (TDP), a Tampa Bay grassroots initiative turned global leader in dysautonomia education. Prior to being named Executive Director, Key served as TDP’s 2022 Board President. She is also a founding board member, serving as a board officer since the organization’s inception in 2014. She has been involved in Tampa Bay nonprofit work since the 1990’s, working with The Children’s Home Inc., The Florida Orchestra and the Hillsborough Education Foundation.

Key replaces TDP Founding Director, Kelly Freeman, who has served as Executive Director in a volunteer capacity for the past year. “This is an important turning point in our organization’s development. The leaders we have on staff now, along with our committed and visionary volunteer board, have the strength to significantly advance autonomic medicine,” said Freeman.

Angela Hawkins, local philanthropist and well-known community volunteer, is TDP’s new Board President. Susan Rolston, former Big Brothers Big Sisters CEO and current Juvenile Welfare Board member is new Board Vice President.

Dysautonomia is an umbrella term for any disorder of the autonomic nervous system, affecting an estimated 70 million worldwide. It is said to be one of the most misdiagnosed conditions of all time. TDP’s mission to educate healthcare professionals, patients and communities about dysautonomia has helped lessen the six-year time to diagnosis in Tampa Bay to just a few months. In an effort to replicate those strides nationwide, it’s new ground-breaking program, The Residents Course, is bringing 36 medical residents from across the nation to Tampa Bay for specialized training. The program will take place January 25-28, 2023 featuring a faculty of the world’s leading autonomic specialists made possible in partnership with the American Autonomic Society.

Was this post helpful?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.